Dear Friends, 

On behalf of the vestry, staff, and people of St Chrysostom’s Episcopal Church and Day School, I extend my heartfelt thanks to you for your dedication to the mission and ministry of this congregation. St Chrysostom’s sits in the heart of this great city as a welcoming community of faith dedicated to worship, outreach, and fellowship, serving our neighbors across Chicago for more than 130 years. Your contributions to the mission and ministry of this parish are greatly appreciated! In this time of transition, it is imperative that we all pull together to financially support the ongoing vitality of St Chrysostom’s through the upcoming stewardship season. 

St. Chrysostom’s is not just a building for worship or a school for children; not just a priest or a single ministry. It is a community of people, coming together in service of God and one another, contributing to each other, and to God, so that the Gospel Good News about the Kingdom of Heaven – with all its healing, reconciling, forgiving love – can be continually spread. Our ever-divisive and fearful world desperately needs to hear what we know about our sure and certain hope as an Easter people. From world-class music offerings to life-changing outreach ministries; from a highly respected Day School to meaningful worship, pastoral care, Christian education, and countless opportunities for fellowship and community, St. Chrysostom’s is a vibrant, active, thriving community of faith. 

Of course, all of this takes money. For most of us, it is hard to know how much to pledge to the church. Perhaps some benchmarks will help you consider your 2024 pledge. One way to consider your 2024 pledge is to calculate a percentage of your net income, starting at 3.5% and increasing it by .5 or 1% year to year. This method is especially important for those on a fixed income and balances the giving among the entire congregation, regardless of income. 

My personal belief is that what we give in support of the mission of St. Chrysostom’s reflects our relationship with God and one another. Giving is as much a spiritual exercise as it is a financial one! “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Matthew 6:21). We give out of thanksgiving for what we have received – it’s as simple and as difficult as that.

My friends, 2024 is a pivotal year in the life of this wonderful and vibrant congregation as you receive your next rector. This is an exciting time for St. Chrysostom’s, a time full of hope, promise, and new life. Prayerfully consider how you will give to the support of your mission here so that God’s dream of unity and reconciliation, healing and mercy, compassion and grace continues to flow from Dearborn Parkway for generations to come. 

Peace and blessings be upon you!

+ The Rt. Rev. Whayne M. Hougland, Jr., Interim Rector






2024 Honor Roll

Aaron & Whitney Fershee
Abigail Hymen & Matthew Griffin
Adelaide Rogula
Ahadi White
Ainsley Harris
Alex & Kristine Sasieta
Alex & Sarah Helfers
Alexander & Petra Jacobs
Andi Lamoreaux
Ann Herrick
Anne Brinsmade
Anne Hokin
Ashley Fischer
Austin & Isabel Carpenter
Barbara & Jon Brightman
Barbara Lammiman
Ben George
Benju Manderico
Beth Shields-Szostak
Bob & Betsy Popovich
Bob & Dottie Grieb
Bob & Patricia Lane
Brad & Jody Kapnick
Brian & Alyssa Quinlan
Brian & Teri Odom
Candice & Scott Dias
Caroline Cracraft
Charles & Nancy Berg
Charlie & Caroline Huebner
Charlie Fisher
Christina Cox
Christopher & Kristin Quinn
Clark Fetridge
Conrad Selnick & Liz Eaton
Cynthia Laris
Cynthia R. & David Polayes
David & Alix Earle
David & Heidi Saunders
David McNeel & John McCord
Deborah Alexander
Deborah Hagman & Daniel Shannon
Dee Jarrett Dow
Donna Robertson & Robert McAnulty
Dorothy Ramm
Douglas & Sophie Goodwillie
Douglas Hoffman
Dr. Gerald Hiller
Edmund Lester
Elise Jamison & Michael Cray
Elizabeth Ellsworth
Ellen & Chris Wozny
Evan & Julie Jahn
Frances DeBlasio
Frank & Joanne Schell
Geoffrey & Angie Euston
George & Jean Hull
Gilbert & Jill Valentine
Ginger & Del Hall
Grace Lee
Harlow & Susan Higinbotham
Howell Browne
Jack Butler & John VanderLinden
Jack Denison
James & Kim Elbaor
James & Marilynn Frederiksen
James & Suzanne Neaylon
James G. Massie
James Hughes
Jane Nicholl Sahlins
Jarod Couch
Jay & Silvia Krehbiel
Jean Leavengood
Jeff Ammons
Jenny & Ed Freidheim
Jim & Wende Lawson
Jim Rocks
Joan Burton & Conor Medlow
John & Carol Eding
John & Karen Pickford
John & Laurel Cravens
John & Sally Gardner
John & Weezie Gates
John Bankhurst & Ryan Kin
John Covell & Connie Frydenlund
John Craib-Cox
John Goltermann & Lori Goltermann
John McLees & Bozena Nowicka McLees
John Mullins
John R. Brackett
John Wiemhoff
Jonathan Boyer & Judith Stockdale
Jonathon & Katherine & Jon Keuler
Jose & Macol Stewart Cerda
Judith Caraher
Judith Langendorff
Judy Bross
Justin Henderson
Justin Kumar
Karen & Mary Seda
Karen & Neil Kawashima
Karen Hagberg
Karen Meader
Kate Bensen
Kathleen Rice
Kathleen Ross & George Ferguson
Kathryn & James Gidwitz
Kevin Matzke & Jacqueline Griesdorn
Larry & Sherri Wick
Lauren Rector
Linda Coberly
Linda Larsen
Lindsay & Carter Hawkins
Lisa & Ken Bommer
Liz & Adam Cramton
Luke Matthews
Lynn Belding
Margaret (Meg) & Joe Flippin
Mark & Bettina Michaels
Mark & Laura Fisher
Mark Wuchte
Martha & Richard Gano
Martin & Angie Yorath
Martin McCarthy
Mary Ellen Christy
Matthew & Lindsay Garrison
Matthew McGanity
Meredith Carstens Menache & Julian Rosenthal Erickson
Merrick & Lindsey Axel
Michael & Gretchen Zook
Michael & Suzanne Lisle
Michael & Taylor Sevier
Michael Higgins
Michael Mathews
Michael Sammon
Michelle Harrington & Jeffrey Dykstra
Mika Devonshire
Mike & Meredith Pruyn
Mr. & Mrs. Nathan Swift
Noelle Brock
Pamela Bardo
Patricia White
Patrick & McLaurin Files
Paul Cavalli & Jack McKenney
Paul Frederick
Penny Ojesa
Peter & Marianne Thompson
Priscilla Read & Tom Weiss
Richard & Marilyn Helmholz
Richard Hattan
Rick Shepro & Lindsay Roberts
Robert Schenck & Marcia Whitney-Schenck
Robert Valente
Ronald Williams & Abgail Budzynski
Ross & Katie Baker
Sam Portaro & Christopher Dionesotes
Sarah & Ryan Jacox
Sarah Begel
Sarah Berghorst & John Geis
Scott & Pam Marks
Scott Hill & Terri Cenar
Shelley Fang
Stewart & Cindy Garbutt
Stuart & Cindy Garbutt
Susanna Craib-Cox & Jason Rosenblatt
Ted Haffner
Thomas Opferman
TJ & Karen Ferrantella
Tobin & Libbet Richter
Tom & Elizabeth Kohlbeck
Tripp Dale, III & Karen Nye
Tyler & Sara Mongerson
Walter & Mary Carr
Wayne Mitchell
William & Barbara Herzog
William & Mary Jo Fairbanks
William Harnett & Patty Grauf
William McCarthy